Why you should hire inexperienced people

I was searching for a job as a Junior Project Manager in IT and got frustrated with the requirement of having 5+ years of experience.

Why (I think) companies should hire non-experienced Juniors:

  • Can’t have 5+ years of experience of Project Management when I’m young and just finished my master degree (unless you count the management of my umbilical cord 23 years ago and then I should apply for Senior positions).
  • Inexperienced people have something to prove and they will pay attention to you, research ways to improve the work and they will fall for the office pranks easier (increasing the quality of the environment and lowering the stress of the other employees)
  • Inexperienced people are a tabula rasa when it comes to the company’s (boss’s) needs, desired and way of doing things. So it will be very easy to potty-train one, instead of trying to overwrite.
  • Young and inexperienced people are fun to have around, energetic and workaholics
  • And they have many other fun features, that you’ll discover only by hiring one

Bottom-line, give us a chance.

About Ina

just a regular Joe View all posts by Ina

2 responses to “Why you should hire inexperienced people

  • Piotr Wieczerzak

    Hi Irina,

    there is a point of view I can see, but in the same time, please remember that experience is really really important. I use to think the same You think, but last 5 years when I was working as a proffessional change everything. Especially in Project Management – You cannot be a good leader without having lot’s of experience 🙂

    So I guess … this is just a NATURAL path You have to go Irina, without skipping any steps :-).

    All the best,
    Good input though!

    Piotr

  • rdirina

    uhm… I was referring to junior-level jobs. But I do get your point.

Leave a Reply

